Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
The World, My Play Ground
8 décembre 2007

Hopefully my last day in Kathmandu!

I wake up at 8am, Tamar is leaving for the airport. I have to get going, i have a huge day ahead of me. I need to eat breakfast, buy 2 pair of pants (1 for nuv and the other for me), get to the immigration office for 11am and get my visa by 13h00 to make it at the airport 2 hours prior my flight. It should all work out!!

Joe, the British who is also staying at Arjun's offers to take me to the immigration office since i have no idea where it is. In turn, i invite him to breakfast. We head to thamel (major shopping area) to look for the pants. The closest store is selling them double the price, i have no time to bargin and i don't remember where we had seen them for 11.50$. Ok i decide to forget about the pants for now and go eat breakfast. At 11 we are at the office. I start filling out the forms for a new visa and i have a 2$/day fee for each day i was in the country with an invalid visa! In all it comes up to 90$. The clerk tells me to come by at exactly 13h00 to pick up my visa because the office will close at 13h15. Before leaving,
Krishna arrives, one of my other friend who was sent by Arjun to pick up my plane ticket this morning. He hands me my ticket and we all go hunting for the pants. On the way we notice some show is going on at the university. We all want to go check it out!! Different presentations are being showed. It ranges from politics, religion, woman in society and extreme sports!! They all seem interesting but i have no time. We head towards thamel. It is already 12h30. I have to find a store that sells the pants now! Of course, on my right there is a store with fix prices and the pants are set for 12.00$. Great!! i now have 5 min to try them on and pick the colors! At 12h45 i look at Joe and tell him "we won't make it!". He encourages me to run. In the polluted streets of Katmandu, we crossed town running!! Joe was holding my purse and bag while i had my camera and scarf! We arrive at 13h02, the man who holds the key to the passport cabinet is gone!! The man who is there offers to call the other man. There is no answer; I’m doomed to stay in Katmandu!!!

Krishna arrives and decides to call the man from an outside line instead of calling from the immigration bureau! While i'm sipping on a milk tea and cursing at myself, Krishna comes back and tells me the man is on his way, i just need to pay his taxi!! No problem i thought!

I finally get my passport at 14h00!! I should have already been at the airport. Quickly i jump into a cab. The flight has been delayed and it gives me just enough time to call Nuv and confirm she will be picking me up! Finally i could breathe!

On the plane i met a girl named Robin who has been doing Himalayan studies in the Tibetan villages. She ended up coming with me to nuv's father's house. I finally made it to
Delhi!! What a day.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
The World, My Play Ground
Publicité
The World, My Play Ground
Derniers commentaires
Archives
Publicité